goalie masks

Last season's NEFHL Hall of Fame nominee, Kari Lehtonin, represented the first goalie nominee with more wins than losses since the initial class, which included Martin Brodeur and Evgeni Nabokov. The 2022 class of nominees includes the first goalie to amass more than 700 games, Cam Ward. Goalies have not fared well in voting, with Evegeni Nabokov, Nikolai Khabibulin, and Kari Lehtonen continuing to secure enough votes to hold on to a spot on the ballot, but only Martin Brodeur amassing more than fifty percent of affirmative votes on ballots cast. No goalie or blueliner has yet to be enshrined in the Hall of Fame.

The 2022 ballot also includes the first identical twins to be nominated, Henrik and Daniel Sedin. They will be sharing the spotlight with other notable forwards such as Henrik Zetterberg, Rick Nash, Mike Fisher, Marian Hossa, Patrick Sharp, and Jaromir Jagr. Defensive nominees include the likes of Paul Martin, Michal Rozsival, and Kevin Bieksa.

Other candidates returning from last year’s ballot include Brad Richards (16 votes), Chris Pronger (13 votes), and Nicklas Lidstrom (11 votes). Nearly another dozen nominees garnered enough votes to stick around another year, including fan favorite Dan Boyle.

Drew Philips, former general manager of the Kings, will return as the sole Builder on the ballot. This will be the fifth round of voting for the two-time Stanley Cup winning manager. Phillips received 11 votes in 2018, 12 votes in 2019, but his vote total plummeted to 6 in 2020 and 2021.

General managers may vote for as many selections as they choose, but are requested to submit a blank ballot to the Committee to demonstrate their opinion that none of the nominees are deserving of election to the Hall of Fame. All ballots must be submitted to the Hall of Fame Committee Office, in the form of a PM addressed to Oilers-Jason, no later than 11:59PM ET on Sunday, September 11, 2022.

The full ballot can be found by following this link.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony is currently scheduled to take place prior to the opening of the regular season.

Eligible players are those who retired following the 2018-2019 season, with a minimum of 600 games required for skaters, and a minimum of 500 games required for goalies, as well as those players who received two or more votes on last year’s ballot.

Players or Builders who receive 70% of votes from voting general managers will be inducted into the NEFHL Hall of Fame. Players or builders receiving two or more votes during any selection period will remain on the ballot for the following selection period, for up to seven seasons.

All are invited to visit the NEFHL Hall of Fame.