It was a crisp, gray autumn in 1980 when two boys were born in Sweden. The younger of the two boys would show an almost immediate aptitude for hockey, while the older boy, Henrik, would take a bit longer to develop. The two spent their early years together tearing up the Swedish leagues, so it was no surprise when both were drafted early in the 2005 NEFHL Dispersal Draft. From that day onward, the two would play as twins.

The two boys would amass matching Hall of Fame-worthy stats over the course of their careers, collecting exactly 1,000 points each in just over 1,100 games. They would both deal out more than 700 hits, resulting in more than 700 penalty minutes. They would even shoot their way to matching 13% shooting percentages. They would rank first and third in assists among inactive players, with the older boy barely besting the younger. Though slower to develop, the younger boy would find more success in the playoffs, finishing his career ranked third among inactive players in playoff goals and assists, second in playoff shots and points, and fourth in playoff game winning goals.

While the two boys did not amass much hardware, they would combine for fourteen All Star appearances, including three opportunities to share the same ice. When it was finally time to hang up the skates, they had each spent time with six different franchises, though they never laced them up for the same team.

Unfortunately for the older boy's twin brother, Daniel, the other thing Henrik shared with his Hall of Fame classmate born that fateful Fall in 1980 was a first name. It is with great pleasure that the NEFHL Hall of Fame Committee welcomes Henriks Sedin and Zetterberg into hockey Valhalla.



Twenty-one additional players would collect enough votes to remain on the ballot another year. Of those players, Rick Nash, from this year's nominees, was the most popular. Marian Hossa, Cam Ward, Jarmoir Jagr, and Paul Martin were among other 2019 nominees to remain on the ballot, though with less support than Nash. Brad Richards, Chris Pronger, and Martin Brodeur would see their support remain steady in their representation of the cream of the league's early years, but none have been able to find the upward movement necessary to secure induction.


Among forwards from previous ballots, Daniel Alfredsson, Vincent Lecavalier, and Shane Doan all saw their support fall by more than half. Similarly, among defensemen, Nicklas Lidstrom, Scott Niedermayer, and Andrei Markov did not fare well in this round of voting. Unlike previous years, no player from a previous ballot saw a notable increase in support. This is likely the result of the size and quality of this year's class of nominees.

Fan favorite, Dan Boyle, saw his support increase from two votes to three.

In the Builder category, Drew Phillips barely missed being removed from the ballot, securing the support of just three general managers from across the entire league. Could 2023 be the year that Dan Boyle's support eclipses Drew's?

The Hall of Fame Committee would like to once again thank all voters, even those who were a bit late. There was almost total engagement, with one rookie abstention and one rookie no-show. To the general manager who submitted his votes so late that we had to send the graphics back to the printer; we love you, but fuck off.