Flames 5 Oilers 4         Canucks 3 Sharks 0         BlueJacket 3 Canadiens 4         RedWings 3 Rangers 2         Flyers 4 Penguins 5         Capitals 3 Senators 2         Knights 2 Hurricanes 5         Bruins 6 Jets 2         
Anaheim Ducks Arizona Coyotes Boston Bruins Buffalo Sabres Calgary Flames Carolina Hurricanes Chicago Blackhawks Colorado Avalanche Columbus Blue Jackets Dallas Stars Detroit Red Wings Edmonton Oilers Florida Panthers Los Angeles Kings Minnesota Wild Montreal Canadiens Nashville Predators New Jersey Devils New York Islanders New York Rangers Ottawa Senators Philadelphia Flyers Pittsburgh Penguins San Jose Sharks St-Louis Blues Tampa Bay Lightning Toronto Maple Leafs Vancouver Canucks Vegas Golden Knights Washington Capitals Winnipeg Jets

2019 Hall of Fame Selection Period Opens

2020 HOFWith the doldrums of Summer upon us, it is time to open the voting for the NEFHL Hall of Fame Class of 2019. While the hall itself is still under construction, there was no debating the worth of the four members inducted as part of the Class of 2018, which included skaters Martin St. Louis and Teemu Selanne, and Builders Rob Ratliff and Phil Lanthier.

There was, however, much debate over those who did not make the inaugural class. Some were shocked to learn that Dany Heatley was not inducted. Others found the omission of at least one of the Big Three Defensemen (Pronger, Lidstrom, and Niedermayer) to be a slap in the face of the league’s history. Some were convinced that GM Phillips would surely make it on his second attempt.

Who is truly worthy of the NEFHL Hall of Fame? The official ballot is published. Make sure your voice is heard.

The full ballot can be found by following this link.

Eligible players are those who retired following the 2015-2016 season, with a minimum of 600 games required for skaters, and a minimum of 500 games required for goalies, as well as those players who received two or more votes on last year’s ballot.

Players appearing on the Hall of Fame Ballot for the first time include such names as Pavel Datsyuk, Brad Richards, Vincent Lecavalier, Scott Gomez, Sergei Conchar, Lubomir Visnovsky, Ilya Bryzgalov, and Jonas Hiller.

Twenty-one players will be returning to the ballot based on last year’s vote tallies. Names of note include Dany Heatley (17 votes), Chris Pronger (16 votes), Nicklas Lidstrom (15 votes), Scott Niedermayer (14 votes), Martin Brodeur (13 votes) and Daniel Alfredsson (11 votes).

The lone Builder on the ballot this season is former GM of the Kings, Drew Phillips, who received eleven votes during the 2018 voting period.

Ilya Kovalchuk will again be excluded from selection process, determined by a vote of the Hall of Fame Committee.

Players or Builders who receive 70% of votes from voting general managers will be inducted into the NEFHL Hall of Fame. Players or builders receiving two or more votes during any selection period will remain on the ballot for the following selection period, for up to seven seasons. General managers may vote for as many selections as they choose, but are also requested to submit a blank ballot to the Committee to demonstrate their opinion that none of the nominees are deserving of election to the Hall of Fame. All ballots must be submitted to the Hall of Fame Committee Office, addressed to Oilers-Jason, no later than 11:59PM ET on Sunday, August 18th, 2019.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony is currently scheduled to take place prior to the opening of the preseason.