After months of spectulation, Seth Jones and Carl Hagelin have finally been moved in what was a blockbuster deal with the New Jersey Devils. Both Jones and Hagelin were instrumental during the Penguins Stanley Cup win back in 2018, and both will surely be missed.

"It's tough to see Seth and Carl leave. They are character guys who bring a lot to the table both on and off the ice. It's the reality of the job, the nature of the beast. Unfortunately, nothing is forever," captain Sidney Crosby stated following the teams morning skate. 

The Penguins are heavily invested in a much needed retool that started a year ago with the departure of Jeff Skinner, Brock Nelson and Tyler Toffoli. With a newfound emphasis on bringing in youth, the Penguins acquired talented prospects Liam Foudy and David Gustafsson and drafted highly touted youngsters like Alex Newhook, Brayden Tracey and John Beecher. 

With the goal of continuing to grow the future, the Penguins acquired promising rearguard Evan Bouchard along with a 1st and two 2nd round selections in return for Jones and Haglein.

Bouchard is 48 games deep into his rookie NEAHL campaign and has amassed 31 points, despite playing on one of the weakest teams in the league. He is easily regarded as one of the best defence prospects not playing in the NEFHL. Bouchard is known for being a minute eating defender who is capable of delivering at even strength and with the man advantage.

"It will be tough to fill Seth's shoes, but we are very excited about Evan's skillset. He has shown improvement this year in terms of his footspeed and play in the defensive zone. His offensive game is very polished and we expect him to quarterback our powerplay for a long time,"  added the Penguins GM. 

The Penguins now have two 1sts, four 2nds and two 3rd round picks in the upcoming draft. The scouting staff will need to do their due diligence to ensure that they hit on their picks. 


Top 10 Prospects

1. Alex Newhook

2. Evan Bouchard

3. Liam Foudy

4. Brayden Tracey

5. Isac Lundestrom

6. John Beecher

7. David Gustafsson

8. Nicolas Beaudin

9. Dmitry Zavgorodniy

10. Albert Johansson